Build plans for Classix

Discussion in 'DIY Speakers and Subwoofers' started by Lordpyro, Sep 9, 2014.

1. Hi!

I am a super newbie at DIY, and I purchased the Classix speaker kit, and it didn't come with build plans. I know it's an easy one but since I never built anything like it before, I was wondering if anybody had a build plan? Or alternatively, if there are any websites that have plans on how to build a speaker kit for beginners?

Thanks
    Anthony

2. I'm unaware of any complete step-by-step instructions, but you can work it out, I'm sure. I'll share some thoughts below, and maybe that'll answer most of your questions - or at least get you thinking. Did you see the cut list and model in the image on the product page?

http://www.diysoundgroup.com/catalog/product/gallery/id/365/image/1352/
    [​IMG]

Here's what I would do.

1. Go to the big box hardware store and pick out a sheet of 3/4" MDF or nice void-free plywood if you prefer. Before you buy it, have the guy with panel saw cut a couple strips off one end. The strips will be 15" by 48" (plywood) or 49" (MDF). Each strip should be almost enough for one cabinet, and much easier to manage compared to a full sheet. Have three (or four) cut so there's extra, especially if the corners of the sheet are buggered.

2. At home, carefully cut the pieces according to the list in that image (see note about baffle size in next step before you actually cut anything!). Measure twice, cut once. A table saw would be my choice, but a circular saw and a fence would do as well. A high tooth count blade (like 60-80 teeth on a 10" blade) will ensure a nice even cut with no tear-out and a sharp edge. Notice that all of the pieces will need cutting - maybe an inch or three, or maybe not - don't trust the measurement of the guy at the panel saw.