DIY'ing an inexpensive modular 2 to 8 channel DSP plate amplifier.

Discussion in 'DIY Speakers and Subwoofers' started by Matt Grant, Dec 2, 2021.

1. #1 Matt Grant, Dec 2, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2021
    This is another idea that I have been kicking around for a couple years but finally purchased parts for and started messing with over the summer. Though I've been sidetracked with some other projects and waiting for lots of different parts so I haven't messed with it beyond testing the basic functionality.

This is based around the Sure/Dayton TPA3116 amplifier boards with DSP which use the very capable but otherwise underutilized Texas Instruments adau1701 DSP chip. Those boards natively support 2 channel input and 4 channel output, 2 channels through the onboard amp and two unbalanced line level outputs. Combined with the Sigma Studio software it's a very flexible and feature rich DSP.

[​IMG]

The ADAU1701 also has 8 channel digital input and outputs which can be mapped to the GPIO ports. Unfortunately 4 of those GPIO ports are used up by the onboard pots on the Sure/Dayton amp boards. However you can utilize two i2c output streams each with two channels on the free GPIOs. Then using some inexpensive I2C DAC's you can easily achieve 8 channel output.

While the design certainly isn't going to have state of the art noise and distortion levels, the ability to have 8 separate channels of DSP and amplification certainly opens up interesting new DIY speaker design prospects that cannot be replicated with passive or even 2 channel active amplifiers. Of which I have plenty of ideas for, many involving multiple shaded woofers for added directivity control.

The remaining GPIO's can also be used for various controls and or indicators (I turned one into a basic adjustable clip indicator with the right programing).