Econowave style with LE14a & SEOS12 + DNA360

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by albertli, Jan 23, 2013.

1. Guys,
    I'm an old newbie and would like to make it my hobby for the retirement. I would like to have some ideas on how I should start out for this project. What I want is something which could play fullrange, doesn't need help from any sub. This is only for music listening.
    I've no idea on crossover design, but read some on the other forum and know that people love to cross the LE14a at 900hz.
    I'm good on wood, I retired from wood framing. I can do any size boxes as recommended, n size really doesn't matter.
    Thanks in advance
    Albert

2. Hi Albertli,

Considering no subs and not sure of cross over design (yet), but good wood working abilities, I'd suggest building something pre-designed by someone here or elsewhere. There are getting to be quite a few SEOS12 designs. Have you already bought the LE14a woofers? If you have, that's tricky because I'm not sure of a design out there. If you haven't, then please let us know:

Budget
    Size constraints
    and anything else that could help.

Good hobby to pick! Have fun doing it.

3. Hey Tux - my country man,
    I'm Canadian too, from White Rock.
    Yes, I have the LE14a with me and a pair of plywood utility boxes which I could convert them into speakers but 3.5 cu.ft. the most. I could make them 18.75"x 15.5" x 26.5" O.D. n of course I could make boxes to any size to make them optimum. :)
    My plan is to buy a pair 360 together with a pair SEOS12 to coup with. Actually I have been to AK forum and know that Jack designed a crossover specially for the LE14a n for the public to share. I could copy and post that here if permitted.
    My future studio will be something 16' x 25' x 8'h, a kind of empty and without any finishing at the moment. My plan is to finish the wall with paint and carpet the floor. Etc...
    I open for any good recommendations. Please do advise.
    Thanks again