The 88 Special Build Guide - "FUD Buster"

Discussion in 'DIY Speakers and Subwoofers' started by bitmap42, Feb 22, 2015.

1. The 88 Special Build Guide - "FUD Buster"

I am new to DIY speaker building, but not new to DIY projects in general (i.e. home improvement projects). This thread shows my first build of 2 88 Specials for a LR setup (phantom center) from DIY Sound Group.

Both of them were expertly packed and shipped by Erich! For all those "on the fence”: the ordering, shipping process, and quality of components (i.e. flat pack, etc.) is extremely well done and professional!

While searching through the forums I was able to get answers to all of the questions I had while building, but continually struggled with "which bookmark had the answer" or "which page of this thread talked about XYZ." It seemed like this problem would get even worse when I started a subwoofer, surround speakers, or a third 88 special for a dedicated center in a few months.

I saw other posts where builders (especially new builders like myself) were struggling with the same issues.

So I decided to try creating a "Build Guide" that had step-by-step instructions as well as alternate choices for the build steps. I nicknamed it the "FUD Buster" since I also wanted to remove the "Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt" that occurs for the first time builder considering their first project.

The guide is complete through the crossover assembly, but doesn't have details on sound deadening, putting the front baffle on, attaching the speakers, final finishing the outside of the box, etc. I have done most of those steps but haven't added them to the guide. I also just setup both in their final spots, so I can't do a detailed review, but first impressions are very good!

Hopefully this guide is helpful to others! Thank you to Jeff for designing the speakers and Erich for the flat packs, website, etc.! Also thank you for all those who actively answer questions in the forums!