Volt-6 build thread

Discussion in 'DIY Speakers and Subwoofers' started by swest, Oct 6, 2015.

1. For those of you that don't make it over to the avsforums, I thought I'd re-post my Volt-6 build thread here.

So, I decided to retrofit my little theater's entire loudspeaker suite. I have been using a hodgepodge of speaker brands for the last 20 years (B&W 803s for LR, B&W FCM8 for C, Atlantic Technology 450SRs for surrounds, and Wharfedale Diamond 7.2s for back surrounds, 12" Dayton Titanic Mk III-based subwoofers).

The new LCR speakers will be JTR 228HTRs, the new subwoofers will be, first, a replaced driver in the 4 existing subwoofer enclosures (separate thread), and then later, a new big-boy sub to rule them all...

The surrounds? Well, that's what this thread is about. New surrounds, and the addition of Dolby Atmos speakers on the ceiling.

After browsing for suitable alternatives, the Volt-6 appeared to be the way to go. They have some great speaker designs over at diysoundgroup.com. Thanks, 'Erich H', for all you do...

So, I ordered 8 of those kits + flatpacks.

They came nicely packaged, with all the pieces-parts needed for a finished job. Even a PCB, so you don't have to worry about using pegboard for the crossover.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. These little kits come in pairs, so I started with one of the pairs to test-drive the crossover assembly...

[​IMG]

I immediately discovered that I needed to use my hotter soldering iron. I also learned a few things about the glue-gun operation... So, I moved on to knocking out the next six in one assembly-line operation:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Needless to say, I availed myself of the excellent advice provided over in the diysoundgroup forums here.

I added the connector wires, and then set about figuring out the best mounting location inside the box:

[​IMG]